Thursday, 18 October 2018 Contact us
Yuri-slezkine
Yuri Slezkine
Nick-higham-2
Nick Higham

The Princeton University Press Lecture. The House of Government: A Saga of the Russian Revolution

Yuri Slezkine Interviewed by Nick Higham

Friday, 13 October 2017

12:00pm

1 hour

Blenheim Palace: The Orangery

£6 - £12

Historian and writer Professor Yuri Slezkine tells the extraordinary story of an enormous Moscow apartment building where Communist true believers lived until they were all sent to prison or their deaths in Stalinist purges.

The House of Government, across the river from the Kremlin, was completed in 1931. Its 505 flats made it the largest residential building in Europe and it housed the people who ran the Communist state. Slezkine uses a gripping narrative technique in the tradition of Tolstoy’s War and Peace to tell the story both of the residents and of the Russian Revolution.

“A Soviet War and Peace.” Sheila Fitzpatrick, London Review of Books

Slezkine, a Russian-born American historian and writer, is Jane K Sather Professor of History at the University of California, Berkeley. His books include The Jewish Century, winner of the National Jewish Book Award.

Here he talks to BBC journalist Nick Higham, who was the BBC’s first ever media correspondent and, until recently, presenter of Meet the Author on the BBC news channel.

History

Blenheim Palace HSBC In partnership with HSBC Desmond and Fiona Heyward Lady Hatch Jill Dunsmore Mary and Cecil Quillen Italian Cultural Institute Owen Mumford Schools programme partner HM Government of Gibraltar Sponsor of festival green room Gibunco Group Hedges Law Lawyers to the festival Seabourn Luxury Cruises Blackwell’s Festival on-site and online bookseller European Commission Schools and colleges programme The Oxford Times Regional media partner Bear Ram Elk Digital Strategy and Web Design Eynsham Hall Floris of London Oxford Cultural Collective Macdonald Bear Hotel Festival hotel Princeton University Press Prestige publishing partner Lord’s Taverners Festival sports charity partner The Feathers Hotel The King’s Arms The Sloane Club Literary Review Liaison Financial Services OX magazine K T Bruce Photography Save the Children Bookshop Experience Oxfordshire Wake up to Woodstock
 

Blenheim Palace Festival of Literature Film & Music 2018 partners & sponsors

Blenheim Palace HSBC In partnership with HSBC Desmond and Fiona Heyward Lady Hatch Jill Dunsmore Mary and Cecil Quillen Italian Cultural Institute Owen Mumford Schools programme partner HM Government of Gibraltar Sponsor of festival green room Gibunco Group Hedges Law Lawyers to the festival Seabourn Luxury Cruises Blackwell’s Festival on-site and online bookseller European Commission Schools and colleges programme The Oxford Times Regional media partner Bear Ram Elk Digital Strategy and Web Design Eynsham Hall Floris of London Oxford Cultural Collective Macdonald Bear Hotel Festival hotel Princeton University Press Prestige publishing partner Lord’s Taverners Festival sports charity partner The Feathers Hotel The King’s Arms The Sloane Club Literary Review Liaison Financial Services OX magazine K T Bruce Photography Save the Children Bookshop Experience Oxfordshire Wake up to Woodstock